My Lady Jane. By Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton & Jodi Meadows

MyLadyJane_final

Rate: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I received this book with my Owl Crate monthly subscription in June.  I had forgotten about the book until I started rearranging my bookshelves.  Yes I know it sounds weird but I have so many books and shelves that I switch them around occasionally.  Try not to judge me too harshly.

I’ve read historical parody books before but nothing quite like this.  It really was good from start to finish.  I’m also slightly obsessed with the Tudor family.  I read all books written about that dynasty.  I’m not sure why but they have always been my favorite, they are the reason I fell in love with England in the first place.

The book opens with a Prologue where the authors are talking about what happened to Lady Jane Grey and the injustice of it all.  They end with saying that this is how they believe her story should have gone and from there the story takes off.  We are introduced to King Edward who at the time is dying from “the Affliction” and has just been given 6 months to a year to live.

His most trusted advisor Lord Dudley tells him that he has to name someone to take his place for when he dies.  His idea is to have Lady Jane (Edwards best friend) marry his son Gifford and have her sit on the throne until she can produce a male heir.  That way Lord Dudley could “assist” Lady Jane just like he did for King Edward.  Of course history books have long thought it was possible that he was poisoned.  The authors went with that theory and had all those close to Edward plotting to kill him. Certain circumstances led King Edward to be declared dead and Jane and Gifford are made royalty.  That is the beginning of a crazy adventure that involves treason, attempted murder, horses, birds, foxes and a few other animals.

I don’t want to give away too much information but there is fantasy, fun, laughter everything you could possibly imagine in this book.  I found myself laughing out loud more than once.  From bookish Jane to the brat that Gifford could sometimes be.  There are parts of this book that will come as quite a surprise but I think you guys will love it just the same.  This book is for all ages.  I think if you love history with a little silliness then this is definitely the book for you.  Because I enjoyed it so much I am giving it 5 stars.  Please whenever you get a chance check it out.

Nikki🐛

 

 

Leave a comment